The Process... My Thoughts

Looking for feedback, ideas, or pre-reading? Come on in!

The Process... My Thoughts

Postby Davidism » Wed Jul 13, 2011 3:45 pm

EPIC UPDATE

The last few years has seen an explosion in fan-fiction across the internet. Not just here, and not just pony. In this rise of self-prescribed fame/attention, there have been many that have succeeded, and many that have failed. When I first made this post, all that time ago, I was a very angst-filled writer, and I enjoyed thumbing my nose at the process. I believed then—as I do now—that anyone should write, but more recently I've come to the conclusion that not all can. Most damning still, is that not all should wear their ego as a comfy hat.

As a somewhat long-time member of this forum/archive and FIMFiction, I've witnessed a huge en mass of pony fiction. Some of it is very good, and some of it is so atrocious it needs to be burned from history. The most important thing that I've learned, is the motto for one of my groups: "There is NO story without sin!"

Even the most carefully edited stories, and especially those with two or more editors is notoriously prone to have grammatical and narrative issues. Something, that no one can convince these "writers" to recognize. Many of the new writers that come along feel inadequate, feel intimidated; want to write a story, and have it reach the feature box; get picked as a feature on EqD... but fail to understand that letting their story get edited by a student, is only going to produce a student level product. Having more editors won't help. Hell, you could have a million editors, and by the time it's over, your story is ribbons; your story has no soul, and someone still forgot what it means to have a dependent clause.